Tracking an 03-04 Cobra

BlackPearlZ

Established Member
Sorry if this is a topic that has beaten to death. I'm new to the cobra world, and tried searching around and didn't find exactly what I was looking for.

My questions are, how are these cars as an occasional HPDE car. I did read that they run pretty hot, and that concerns me living in Florida. How common is it for these cars to go into limp mode due to heat. I don't want to be stuck with a car that can't even finish a 20 minute session.

One of the cars I'm considering does has a heat exchanger and killer chiller, will that be enough to combat the heat? I did read in the FAQ about the Tiger racing hood I think it was. That could be a potential upgrade.

I'm sure I'm forgetting some questions. Mainly, I'm just wanting to know if this platform is going to meet my needs as an occasional HPDE car and occasional dd.

Sirl

Established Member
Hello there,
I cant answer your questions since I dont have a Termi, but, I am in Ft. Lauderdale, and track my car often.

I would encourage you to join a site called "Track Weekend dot com"

There, you will find all the local clubs and track days on one calendar.

We do have a few termis, and they all run great. But not sure of the mods.

If you have any questions about the local tracks/scene, dont hesitate to pm me.

~Mitch

N/Angel

Crazy Swiss Chick!
Established Member
Premium Member
I have a custom built Cobra engine in my GT and what made the biggest difference for cooling was an external oil cooler, here's a pic:
3201834001_large.jpg

I also run the trueforged intercooler tank, a Gords heat exchanger with fans, the large LFP race radiator and no thermostat.
doing extended WOT runs in 5th and 6th gear on the German Autobahn my charge temp stays below 150 degrees.

TroyV

Brakes only slow you down
Established Member