Venison Recipes

tdschst

Established Member
So I'm finally getting the meat from my first deer and was interested in what recipes you guys use. I've cooked deer once before (neck roast) and basically did it the same way as a corned beef roast. I'm getting steaks, butterflied chops, roasts, hamburger, summer sausage mixed with cheddar cheese, and snack sticks with pepperjack.

Instigator99

427 whaaaaat?
Established Member
Try making some stew and chili with it. Hell maybe go for some kebobs as well.

-Eric

SonicDTR

Wasn't me.
Established Member
Premium Member
You can prepare and cook it like you would any lean beef in my experience.

Salt and pepper then sear on the grill for some amazing steaks. You can throw some in a chili or a stew and turn out awesome. Or cut it up and bread it to fry steak finger like pieces.

Pretty hard to screw up venison! It always tastes amazing!!

mustanginky

Established Member
i'm in my first year cooking with venison, i've eaten it before when i was younger but always my step-mom cooking the deer i killed.

i shot a nice little button buck earlier this year (thought it was a doe) and came home that night and had butterfly cut backstrap steak.

to make the steak, i made a marinade with garlic, salt, little bit of pepper, mustard, worscestisire (sp?) sauce, soy, etc...basically to make the steak do whatever you'd usually do.

to make a roast, get a crock pot, your roast, garlic, onion, cream of mushroom/chicken, potato's, carrots, etc...

i also ground up about 4 lbs of scrap for burger/chili and may make some jerky as i got a dehydrator for christmas. this was my first year doing it all myself instead of having someone process it.

the steaks were delicious. i have deer meet on the menu 4x this week :)

tdschst

Established Member
Yeah I've eaten quite a few times before but have only cooked it once. I've read recipes online that talk about putting it in milk overnight to tenderize it, anyone ever do this?

HYBRED