Coyote/Maserati Quattroporte

Chris_5.0

Established Member
So, this is my first time posting to this section of SVTP, but I love this story and it was one of my first run-ins after I picked up the 5.0 back in January. (Stock at the time)

So, I'm on my way home from work late one evening on the highway and I see some fancy looking HID's coming up behind me pretty quick. I thought it was a ricer till it pulled up next to me. A beautiful, near brand new Maserati Quattroporte. This was the model with just over 400 to the crank. Anyways, we both made eye contact, I looked ahead and oddly enough there wasn't a car in sight for over a mile. We both slowed to about 55 MPH, and I dropped it into third. Three honks and we were off. Now, I had never taken my car above about 90 or so at that point. (I had only had it a couple weeks at that point). Well, he stayed with me...

We were pretty even up until around 90-100, but he kept on it. I kept my eyes glued ahead of me, as I banged fourth and fifth. I looked in my rearview and he was a good 4-5 lengths behind me. After seeing this, I let off the gas pedal and glanced down at the speedometer with both hands glued to the wheel. It's amazing how 145 feels like nothing in these cars. I downshifted and got back down to cruising speed, and as you would expect -- the ricer fly-by and the finger all in one fluid motion.

I'm amazed how I could spend roughly 1/5 of the value of his car and beat him in a stock to stock race. Maserati's are definitely known for more than just luxury -- performance is in there too. Mustangs are without a doubt one of the best horsepower to dollar ratios out there. You just can't beat 'em. Best purchase I've ever made.

KushBandit

Established Member
Good kill man!