Disappointed - JLT RAI

Stitch

Established Member
After having it on for 2 weeks, I'm honestly not impressed. I feel no increase in performance whatsoever. But SOTP feel is not all so I have a Dyno appointment May 20th. With the stock intake with just a KN filter, I made 302rwhp with tune.

The design itself is not the problem I see, but its the fit/finish. Clearances are way too tight. The rubber elbow is sitting/rubbing against my strut tower and the hood insulator, the 9" (which I believe is too long) is pushing up against the back of the headlight housing and I can assure you the pieces are installed correctly. I have been working on cars for many years and though I may not be able to rebuild a motor or rear end, I can install an intake.

I'm a bit more irritated is that I PM'd Tucker regarding a question I had and received no response whatsoever.

Honestly, the design needs to be overhauled for a more OEM fit and finish. The Throttle Body elbow needs to be custom made for each vehicle year and allow for the required downward slope of the intake tube. The filter or tubing needs to be cut instead of using the frame of the vehicle to support the whole intake. Clearances need to be tighter and allow for better fit. Even the actual RAI tube had large burr's and unfinished material on each side of the tube that I filed down.

Anyway, unless I see a decent power gain on the 20th, my RAI will be for sale.

djtech

Established Member
My JLT CAI was a tight fit as well. Mine scraped the hood liner enough to wear a small hole in it ;(. I think that it can be installed without hitting but I didn't spend enough time on it to find out.

The pipes look like painted PVC to me, nothing special. I noticed a power improvement after the install. I did scrape the crap out of mine where the intake goes in to the fenderwell. I like the looks and power more than the stock setup.

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member