How did Norton get my new debit card number?

tallfreak

Just a newb
Established Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
1,150
Location
Memphis
I bought Norton PC protection software several years ago for my wife's desktop. I believe it was a 3 year subscription. I just got an email from Norton warning me that my automatic renewal is coming up soon. I don't want to renew the subscription, so I logged in for the first time probably since I bought the software to end the subscription. I found they have my new debit card number. I got this new debit card about 2 months ago from my bank automatically because I had used my old card at a store with a suspected card info hack. The new card is a completely different number. How did Norton get access to this information? At first I thought that maybe I used her computer to order something with my new number, but I don't think I have. I got a new laptop about a month ago that came with Kaspersky, and I have been using it.

I did a quick Google search and found several other people claiming that Norton charged them without approval. One person even said Norton claimed they didn't have the new card number, but the bank account showed it was charged to the card.
 

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
7,408
Location
Evans, Colorado
That's definitely interesting. I know that legally we can update an expiration date on a card automatically. I wouldn't even know where to begin with updating a completely different card number.

What I would do is research PCI compliance. It is the standard by which businesses and retailers must comply to utilize debit and credit cards. The standards are different based on the size of the business and the amount of transactions they do.

One thing to keep in mind is that if you've signed up for a recurring subscription, that digital contract may provide the company the opportunity to gather that information through banks and clearing houses they work with. Usually those terms of use do not state that your account won't renew if you change your credit card.

That's definitely a shady practice, but probably legal.

There's a few people here that run merchant services. They might be able to chime in with more info here.
 

Boosted T-4

GTFD
Established Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
1,250
Location
Indianapolis
I think my mom was telling me about this a few days ago. I think it was McAfee though.

She called and had them take off the charge.
 

tallfreak

Just a newb
Established Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
1,150
Location
Memphis
That's definitely interesting. I know that legally we can update an expiration date on a card automatically. I wouldn't even know where to begin with updating a completely different card number.

What I would do is research PCI compliance. It is the standard by which businesses and retailers must comply to utilize debit and credit cards. The standards are different based on the size of the business and the amount of transactions they do.

One thing to keep in mind is that if you've signed up for a recurring subscription, that digital contract may provide the company the opportunity to gather that information through banks and clearing houses they work with. Usually those terms of use do not state that your account won't renew if you change your credit card.

That's definitely a shady practice, but probably legal.

There's a few people here that run merchant services. They might be able to chime in with more info here.
I don't think I signed up for automatic renewal. I found someone saying that's an "option" they added but it wasn't listed and you were automatically signed up for it. They even said you had to contact Norton to get it removed. They updated not long ago saying they added the removal process online. I turned off auto renewal and deleted my billing info.
 

svtaddict

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
1,596
Location
Utah
Microsoft Security Essentials. Best free hands down. If you cancel norton they start sending you fake malware and viruses to get you to renew.
 

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
7,408
Location
Evans, Colorado
I don't think I signed up for automatic renewal. I found someone saying that's an "option" they added but it wasn't listed and you were automatically signed up for it. They even said you had to contact Norton to get it removed. They updated not long ago saying they added the removal process online. I turned off auto renewal and deleted my billing info.

You'd have to review the terms of use you agreed to when you purchased the upgrade. I know some of those are long and arduous to get through, but it does represent a legally binding contract. There's a good possibility you signed up for a subscription that requires cancellation.

Companies that care about their customers try to make sure their customers know this and have cancellation readily available. I've not personally heard that of Norton. But if you signed up and by doing so agreed to the terms, depending on what's in them they may legally be able to act like a douche company.

It's important to read those terms.

It sounds like you caught it prior to the renewal which is good. I'd contact Norton directly to cancel the contact your bank and let them know you won't authorize payments to them. After that, download Microsoft Security Essentials.

I don't even want to get in to what norton, mcaffee, Symantec etc. Does to your registry.
 

OhIIICobra

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
2,373
Location
USA
I had a problem before with an auto renewal when I purchased AV software online and it was a pain to unsubscribe. Now I always buy the AV products in physical form and don't provide renewal info. When I get a reminder I just buy a new one and install it. It cost a bit more but is less of a pain. I've tried Trend, Norton, and McAfee before. Now I just use Kapersky.
 

me32

BEASTLY SHELBY GT500 TVS
Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2005
Messages
17,408
Location
CA,NorCal
Sad to hear at one time norton was the best Antivirus program. Times have changed i see almost like there working for the other team.
 
Last edited:

svtfocus2cobra

Opprimere, Velocitas, Violentia Operandi
Established Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
22,438
Location
Washington
I'm running the Microsoft program now. My computer had a McAfee subscription which I told it to cancel and it seemed to work. We'll find out when this finishes. It almost gets to the point where it's one of those things you just deal with. For those of us who have decent computer skills, like me, I don't know how to check if it's working so I just trust that it is and put up with the bs pop ups. I don't use my computer enough to really care but this thread got me going to get rid of it and learn how.
 

03cobra#694

I Have LL’s Hammer
Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
53,708
Location
SW FL.
Get rid of all security/anti virus software. They create more problems than solve. Then install Microsoft security essentials from here: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security-essentials-download

Call Norton support and have them cancel your subscription. Also check with the bank and inform them to block any transaction from that company.
How good is this? I've been tempted to try it before. I get free Norton through Comcast right now and it really seems to slow stuff down vs the old security I had.
 

svtfocus2cobra

Opprimere, Velocitas, Violentia Operandi
Established Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
22,438
Location
Washington
How good is this? I've been tempted to try it before. I get free Norton through Comcast right now and it really seems to slow stuff down vs the old security I had.

I just finished installing it. Seems simple so far and no excessive options. We'll see how it responds when I boot back up later.
 

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Messages
96,714
Location
Cheshire, CT
I had been a loyal Norton customer for years but they've been going downhill in many ways. When it wouldn't let me update my definitions (Norton wanted me to try uninstalling and reinstalling their product) for almost two weeks, that was it for Norton! Seems that is their go-to method for resolving a problem. Uninstall. Reinstall. No thanks! So I have been gradually moving our computers (home and office) from Norton to Kaspersky. I have been using Kaspersky Internet Security and MalwareBytes Anti-Malware Premium in tandum for a few months now and love them both. No issues. It's as if they aren't even there, until they catch something, which has happened a couple of times. My system runs faster without Norton, too.

As far as auto-renewals, I never do that. Mainly because the renewal cost is higher than what you can find through a simple search. I just find the cheapest package and enter the registration codes into my existing products. Simple and I save money. :)
 

Mr. Mach-ete

Liberals Suck
Established Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
12,801
Location
DelMarVa
I use to run Norton years ago, I was tired of my computers freezing up, did seem to work well with any of them. A friend of mine repairs and cleans corrupted computers, he loads AVG on my systems and tells me to stop using IE. Damn if it didn't work, I haven't had an issue with malware or slow running systems in years.
 

ashleyroachclip

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
2,185
Location
Oregon
MSE is the way to go.
Bar none ,smoother and as if it was not even there.
Also quit using IE.
That is a recipe for disaster.
 

Deceptive

Brad's Spirit Donkey
Established Member
Premium Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
10,217
Location
Nashville, TN
I got away from Norton and McAfee years ago and went to Kapersky. I have never had an issue since.
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top