I'm In A Pickle - Rental Property Related

TorchMach

Established Member
I need some different opinions on what to do here.

So, I own a few units in the LA area, and I receive a call from Tenant A, "hey Ruben I just wanted to let you know, Tenant B's husband had a heart attack and died, he was my nephew"...i gave them my condolences and told them I was sorry.

Terrible situation all around, as I'm not good with this stuff. So, I know for a fact Tenant B's husband, was the bread maker for that family 3 kids and a stay at home wife.

So, regarding rent, I planned on sitting down with the widow at the end of the month and asking how they planned to proceed. I planned to give them March free either way, but need to know how they plan to pay me the following month. If there's obvious signs they can't and won't pay, I'll have to start the process of eviction. (obviously I don't want to, but morals a side, this is business)

Am I in the wrong? I feel like that's generous, as I've rented before. What would you guys do?

They have always been good tenants, always paid on time and have been there 9 years. I've owned the property 4 months.

I typed this on my cell so give me a break in grammar.

Thanks for you're opinions guys, I don't know what to really do.

Kevins89notch

Established Member
Sounds proper to me. No offense to them, but you're in it for the money, not charity. One month's rent seems like a nice gesture and gives them some time to think things over.

TK Doom

Established Member
Don't give them the free month.

Don't contact at all.

Let them contact you, wait and see if rent comes and then if it does, you pretend nothing happened.

If you give a tenant a dime, they'll take a dollar, and then you'll be feeling bad anyway.

FIVEHOE

Established Member