Post pictures taken w/ Nikon D40

Dominion

I'm your Huckleberry..
Established Member
I am thinking about taking the plunge and buying a quality camera. I would like to see anything you have taken pictures of with a Nikon D40. How do you like it? Easy to use? Im a noob when it gets into the complicated parts of picture taking, i can usually snap some decent pictures with a regular camera but this one is a little more "to do" than the regular ones you can pick up for $100.

Any help? Comments? Reviews?

4fit?

Established Member
Here are a shit-ton of user groups on Flickr dedicated to the D40. Lots of pics to peruse. My personal opinion is that it is a nice entry level dSLR. It is quite uncomfortable for me to hold as it is a smaller bodied camera and the lack of an AF motor means you are limited to lenses that have an AF motor built into them.

I recommend you go to a store and physically hold a few different cameras. Comfort is very important in a SLR camera. See which ones you like the control placement on and things such as that.

SlowSpecV

Established Member
Here's some of mine. It took me a bit to get used to the DSLR but it's really fun once you get the hang of it.

3784240682_88a7c2a2f4_b.jpg

3783433545_0c14e1da4f_b.jpg

3783432803_491206ba6c_b.jpg

3784238058_4115b292c7_b.jpg

3783427147_68e479aa1b_b.jpg

HDR Editing:

3760083211_e750106d3f_b.jpg

-Alex

Graves

Established Member
Just do yourself a favor and read, research, and actually learn how to use the DSLR.
Don't spend the money on that kind of camera ,set it to "auto", and take snap shots that look JUST like something you could accomplish with a point & shoot.

PowerShiftz02gt

Established Member