Raise the rpm range on my eaton

HardRockinAmigo

Established Member
Hey guys. So I have had my cobra for about 2 years now. Bolt ons so far are 2.93 pulley and 100 idler, offroad x and magnaflow mufflers, JLT cai and a killer chiller system. Its no longer my DD so want to turn it 8000 rpm and outrun corvettes with a stock looking setup. (So I can actually get races obviously) I'm a machinist so I'm going to port the heads, eaton, and plenum. Get some better cams. Higher pressure springs and retainers. I'm not afraid to turn the stock short block 8000 so it'll just get a bit wider clearances and a set of low tension rings. Bigger injectors and maybe a fuel pump are also on the list if necessary. The real question I have is the eaton. Right now I make 450 rwhp at about 6200 and right about there the blower runs out of juice. What can I do to bring the rpm range up on the blower? Smaller lower pulley? Is there anything internally I can do to make it more efficient? Thanks in advance and sorry for the rambling. Haha. Cheers.

cobracide

Established Member
Shifting at about 5k RPMs is optimal for a 2.9/4# or 6#. You are going to build a LOT of heat going to 8k. If you really want to shift at 8k, get a whipple 2.3 or something else more efficient in the upper RPM range.

HardRockinAmigo

Established Member
Like I said I want it to look stock. If I put a whipple on it nobody is going to race me that I want to race. The point is taking people's money dude. Shifting higher lets you run more gear. The car with more gear always wins. And if I can turn it higher I can hopefully just have the boost come in later. Maybe a larger than stock pulley? Would that help the eaton come in when I want it to?

racebronco2

Established Member
Did you try doing a search? You are going to need more power and less weight along with the machining your going to do.

cobracide

Established Member