Which Alternator should I choose?

zonk22

Established Member
Cant find a new ford alternator. I can however find a re-manufactured ford unit at my local ford parts counter.

JB

beautiful loser
Established Member
Cant find a new ford alternator. I can however find a re-manufactured ford unit at my local ford parts counter.

If you want OEM, you'll have to settle for a reman because that's all they're selling at the dealers now.
I was able to pick up one of the last new ones from a friend that works for Motorcraft (I keep it on the shelf as a spare)

I've been running a START N' CHARGE for a couple years now and couldn't be happier with it and Jamie's service is top-notch
He's supposed to be back in biz soon after his unfortunate shop fire...

Last edited:

M4_ELITE

Established Member
i went with a remand oem few months ago. nothing wrong with buying re-manufactured.

zonk22

Established Member
with out a phone # on his website, or even a site that has any info on cars newer than 2001, I am a little leery of start n charge.

Root1022

100 Shot, 1 Kill
Established Member
Dont be He makes the best alt out there. He's on Modular Fords alot and I havent really seen one person complain about his alt. ALOT of people are running them to, he had a mishap here recently with his shop but he's the man to go to.

If you want OEM, you'll have to settle for a reman because that's all they're selling at the dealers now.
I was able to pick up one of the last new ones from a friend that works for Motorcraft (I keep it on the shelf as a spare)

I've been running a START N' CHARGE for a couple years now and couldn't be happier with it and Jamie's service is top-notch
He's supposed to be back in biz soon after his unfortunate shop fire...

Is there any specific reason that only remanufactured ones are available now?

racerat

200+mph Boss-O-Matic!
Established Member