Working crazy hours worth it?

R.D.P.

Extra Sprinkles
Established Member
Long story short - for the past month I've been doing double "shifts" - my normal position + filling in doing database support during the days - 74hrs a week. I'm not technically OT eligible but I'm getting paid like I am during this stretch. I'm dragging ass at this point and have to decide if I'm going to volunteer to keep at it. I know there are others that work this much a week or more and I'm sure doing more physical work, but is it really worth it? I'm not hurting for money or anything - just banking the extra funds.

Can't decide if I'm stupid if I pass on the money or stupid if I keep at and keep running myself down.

Stanger00

Established Member
I don't know how others do it. Quality of life is more important to me and so is my family life.

I have a few coworkers that pull 5 16 hour shifts a true double and their 6 and 7th day are 12 hours each. One guy did it for 5 months straight! Still didn't raise enough money for a down payment on a 500k home. Our OT dried up though.

STAMPEDE3

SAULS BROTHER
Super Moderator
I've averaged 84 hours a week for a while now.

When on nights I do 91
It gets old but that's life. They are finally gonna hire someone soon.
Money is good but I'm worn out. And I don't get 1.5
I only get straight time.

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
No way in hell anymore, been there, did that. I put in about 50, but 16 would be better. Does being a Mod here count?

Bdubbs

u even lift bro?
Established Member
Premium Member
We have mandatory ot, and I give mine away. I like my days off.

fulanititoo8198

Established Member
I did it for a year, hopefully never again. Health and social life went down the drain. Now doing low 30 hrs/wk and feel like I got my life back. Just tighter with money, but **** it.

Zemedici

Established Member
I work 65 hours/week minimum, gotta say, I'm not a fan. But in return I'm much more financially successful than most people my age