Griggs Suspension GT500 v. Roush

cobra gt 07

Will Go 8's Eventually
Established Member
I know that the Roush cars are prized for their performance when it comes to suspension. The Griggs suspension has recently come under my radar for my GT500. I am wondering:

1) Will a GT500 modified with Griggs suspension will clearly outperform a 427R Roush or Stage 3 Roush on the track? If so, what level of Griggs suspension does it take?

2) If no to question #1, how will a GT500 compare to a Roush on the race track with a KB Stage III Mammoth or Whipple 2.9 and Griggs suspension?

3) What is the best version of Griggs suspension for the value for a daily driver that is occassionaly taken to the track and drag strip? The GR40SS with watts link or The GR40ST?

blkGT500nCA

Established Member
I'm by no means an expert but isn't roush just special springs, shock/struts and other upgraded basic suspension components? The griggs stuff is top of the line with Koni coil-overs, rod end links instead of polyurethane,replacing the upper control arm for a torque arm, and significant front end weight reduction if you go with a full SLA front end. Be prepared to pay for top notch stuff though.

To try and answer your questions

1) Will a GT500 modified with Griggs suspension will clearly outperform a 427R Roush or Stage 3 Roush on the track? If so, what level of Griggs suspension does it take?

From conversations with people like Van from Revan Racing, I believe so. I would think even the lowest SS kit would pull away from a roush car in the turns.

2) If no to question #1, how will a GT500 compare to a Roush on the race track with a KB Stage III Mammoth or Whipple 2.9 and Griggs suspension?

If you upgraded blowers on the GT500, you would just embarrass the Roush that much more.

3) What is the best version of Griggs suspension for the value for a daily driver that is occassionaly taken to the track and drag strip? The GR40SS with watts link or The GR40ST?