Truetrac

scotsam

Established Member
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Install a truetrac along with moser axles a couple of days ago and this thing is smoooth. I thought for sure I would have some kind of noise as it seams everything adds noise. But to my surprise no noise except for I believe I heard a pop once when going from forward to reverse. If that's it ill take it. Do these things loosen up and make noise? Am I safe or should I get ready for goofy noises in the future? I'm running 85-140 conventional gear oil. In any event so far (250miles) the only difference is the truetrac makes less noise that the factory moaner.

whitesnake86

Established Member
I've been running a tru-trac with mosers for 2 years now with no issues, ran 4.10s in it for a year and now just a few months ago put 3.73s in. slight clicking or clunking sometimes when I release the throttle but barely noticeable and it's supposed to be normal from the slack that it has between the drive and driven gears in it

Robert M

800 HORSE FUN!!
Established Member
I have the TrueTrac/Moser combination you have. I heard a "pop" or "clunk" a couple of times. I recently read (from the Eaton site) where Eaton does not recommend using Synthetic fluid with the TrueTrac. I used the oem Ford fluid when I did my install, it is Synthetic. Before I bought fluid for the refill, I asked around about 85w140 vs. 85w90? The recommendation (even by drag racers) was the lighter 85w90 as is commonly used in the newer cars and not the heavier 85w140 as was used in the older cars. Right now my axle housing is empty and I am installing 85w90 conventional, actually tonight.

I would guess that if Synthetic vs. Conventional is a big deal with the TrueTrac, oil weight choice would also be a factor in how it performs?

R

Last edited:

Wharf Rat

Established Member