State Cop Giving Me Trouble...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrobinsonchicag

Established Member
I pulled in tonight with my Mustang and a state cop that lives near me came down and said, "You better fix that car or I am going to start writing you more tickets than you can afford. That thing wakes me up and it's illegal. FIX IT! Understand what I'm saying?" I'm new to the neighborhood, so I've got no pull here. (Indiana)

He didn't even look at the system, just blatantly said it was illegal. I asked about Harleys, trucks, and other vehicles and he said that he writes them tickets whenever he gets the itch. He said he's the law and there's nothing I can do.

I asked about maximum decibels and specifics which he could not provide. He said, "This is your only warning, change it or you will be sorry. Catch my drift?" He then turned his back and walked away.

What should I do, fight it or get a new exhaust? Anyone know the laws about this? Current system is... long tubes, Off Road X and SLP LM2.

Here are the state stautes...

IC 9-19-8
Chapter 8. Mufflers and Noise Limits

IC 9-19-8-1
Application of chapter
Sec. 1. This chapter applies to every motor vehicle except an antique motor vehicle registered under IC 9-18-12-1.
As added by P.L.2-1991, SEC.7.

IC 9-19-8-2
Muffler leaks, alteration, or deterioration
Sec. 2. A motor vehicle must be equipped with a muffler free from the following visually discernible conditions:
(1) Exhaust gas leaks.
(2) Alteration of muffler elements.
(3) Deterioration of muffler elements.

IC 9-19-8-3
Operation of muffler or noise dissipative device
Sec. 3. A motor vehicle must be equipped with a muffler or other noise dissipative device that meets the following conditions:
(1) Is in good working order.
(2) Is in constant operation to prevent excessive noise.

IC 9-19-8-4
Muffler cutouts and bypasses
Sec. 4. A motor vehicle may not be equipped with any of the following:
(1) A muffler cutout.
(2) A bypass.
(3) Any similar device.